Record Store Day: A Recap


Today was Record Store Day. To celebrate, I had a few margaritas and some enchiladas and headed out to a local record store. I ended up with:

Matt Pond PA – Several Arrows Later – Easily in top ten favorite albums of all time.
Youth Lagoon – The Year of Hibernation – Favorite record of 2011.
Twin Shadow – Forget – Great record.
New Order – Movement – A classic.
James Blake – S/T – Good stuff out of the UK.
Grimes – Visions – Lives up to the hype.
Tanlines – Mixed Emotions – Favorite recent release.
Zola Jesus – In Your Nature 7” – Didn’t know a lot about ZJ, but its really good.
Antony & the Johnsons – I Am a Bird Now – One of my top three of all time I think. Soundtracked my only trip so far abroad to Barcelona.

I wanted to pick up the Danny Brown – XXX limited edition and the Mclusky – Mclusky Do Dallas reissue, but they were out.

Anyhow, a lot happened today in sports today as well.

First, the aforementioned perfect game by Philip Humber. ESPN’s title was “The Humber Games”, awesome.

I also watched probably the ugliest soccer game I have seen in my life. Philadelphia Union vs. Chivas USA. I couldn’t find any video, but 2 players and the Union’s coach were sent off. The Union did win 1-0 on a goal by Adu. I understand the MLS is not the EPL. I enjoy the Union, but this game was hard to watch. I hope they get their act together before they come here to Seattle on Cinco de Mayo.

The Sixers decided to win a game. In OT no less. Please make the playoffs.

I also caught the end of the Magic / Jazz game. From what I saw, the Magic collapsed. They were up 4 when I switched on with about 3:30 left in the game. Ryan Anderson really confuses me. He’s listed at PF. I saw him get manhandled in the post and then hit a fallaway, contested 3 with around 2 minutes left. Paul Millsap and Al Jefferson were MEN at the end of this one. I like this Jazz team, if they are healthy next year, they will finish better than the Lakers.

Finally, Jon “Bones” Jones beat “Suga” Rashad Evans in a unanimous decision in UFC 145. I know even less about UFC than I do about hockey, but I know these two are not friendly.

image credit: http://www.mlssoccer.com

Leave a Reply

